It’s All About the Guest: Exceeding Expectations in Business and in Life, the Davio’s Way, by Chef/CEO Steve DiFillippo

Untitled

Ive been getting a few emails about doing book reviews recently. im pretty surprised since my writing style presented on this blog makes me look pretty illiterate (not that I care about). I was happy just the fact that people actually wanna know my opinion. Unfortunately, none of these books looked interesting to me nor I could relate like a vegan cookbook? I have nothing against vegans, but this is bunnyandporkbelly not carrotsandhappybeets you know what I mean?
When I got an email about this book ‘It’s All About the Guest: Exceeding Expectations in Business and in Life, the Davio’s Way, by Chef/CEO Steve DiFillippo’, it actually ignited my interest. Not only I can really relate to the topic, but it’s also something ive been trying to tell my chef friends and the message Ive been sending out through this blog.

my food reviews are’ biased’, but how can you write an ‘unbiased’ review?! Im not a robot; I don’t have a system built in my body to measure precisely how each dish tastes. food is simply a preference. i can only share my very specific experience with detailed photos with you and you can be the judge. There are SO MANY factors that can affect how one dish tastes. My mood, familiarity of the dish, my memories, my dining companion, the service, the weather, anatomy of my mouth, my health, the color of the table cloth, the shape of my wine glass, and so much more, can easily change how I feel about one dish or a restaurant. If I were on a hot date, im sure even McDonald’s would taste heavenly. If I got dumped by the hot date, probably even Michelin starred restaurants can taste like shit. These two examples could be a little extreme, but you got the idea. Of course, restaurants have no control over these personal factors, but what they could do is provide a warm friendly service which definitely elevates how the food tastes.

Do you really think people that dine out solely care for the food? Hell no. When people go to a Michelin starred restaurant or getting that tasting menu, they have no idea what they gonna get before the food is brought to the table. If they were willing to pay hundreds of dollars for a meal that they have no idea what they are going to get, it makes sense to say they come for the whole experience/show. Same thing applies when people drink alcohol, most people don’t purely enjoy the taste of alcohol. At least I don’t, soju, grey goose, patron, they all taste nasty to me, but why do I still drink? Because I like the experience, i like the tipsy feeling, I like drinking with my friends, I like im less shy after a few drinks. Of course it’s a huge plus that the drink is tasty, but it’s never really about what you are drinking.

Money sure can buy ‘happiness’. People pay money to be treated like a king/queen. No one wants/deserves to be treated like shit at restaurants especially he/she are paying money for it. Restaurants should provide the nurturing experience that they are paying money for and they might not get that anywhere else. think of your favorite restaurant or a restaurant you go to all the time. I am sure this restaurant became your favorite not just because it serves amazing food, there must be something sentimental about this place or something other than the food that keeps you coming back. Great food makes my stomach happy at the moment, but great service and experience are the reasons to keep my coming back for more. No one can remember how exactly the food tastes after time, but a great service and experience are unforgettable. why? because i am a human. it will always be remembered and greatly appreciated if i was treated with a lot of care, respect, and kindness.

Bad service/restaurant can ruin a lot of things. The choice of going to a certain restaurant can reflect a person’s taste. If I took a hot date, a group of friends, a business partner, bad service not only can ruin the date, it also makes me look bad since I made the choice of coming here. After all, like Mr. Difillippo mentioned, restaurant business is a hospitality business which is in a service-oriented field. If you are doing business in service-oriented field, then pleasing your guest should become the priority.

‘It’s All About the Guest: Exceeding Expectations in Business and in Life, the Davio’s Way, by Chef/CEO Steve DiFillippo’ not only explains in depth the importance of pleasing the guest, but also gives very useful tips on how to. Steve DiFillippo is chef/owner of Davio’s Northern Italian Steakhouse, a rapidly growing $50 million restaurant group, with locations in 4 different cities. He also owns an expanding line of Davio’s products sold in 3,000 markets in 40 states. He gives insider advices on how to start and expand a successful restaurant/business or just life lessons in general with detailed numbers and stories in the book. After all, the book was an easy and fun read which I finished in one day.

I have not been to Davio’s Northern Italian Steakhouse yet, but im interested in going. If I do get a chance to check it out, I ll let you guys know if what’s been said in the book about their service is true or not.

The book will be on sale in October and you can preorder your copy at: http://stevedifillippo.com/purchase.php

Davios.com
Twitter: @SteveDiFillippo

*the book was given to me for free. I did not get paid to write this review nor was I obligated to write it.

Leave a Reply

