Brodard Chateau | AFTERS Handcrafted Ice Cream | Orange County Los Angeles CA

Porkbelly again, This past month I went to LA/SF on a business trip. Immediately after landing at LAX, I called my friend and asked him “where are we eating ?” His response, “Brodard.”  Located in Garden Grove, Brodard is minutes away from the heart of the Vietnamese population in SoCal, Westminster.

Brodard Chateau is located in the Mall of Fortune, they are a few restaurants in here

IMG_0189

Such as a Boston favorite (not ours)….dunno if it’s the same or if they just have the same name

IMG_0187

They have take out and sell various teas, deserts and Chè

IMG_0180

This location is very spacious and always packed

IMG_0107

IMG_0113

Like any Vietnamese person, I had to order a cà phê sữa đá (Vietnamese Iced Coffee) I finished this in 4 sips, they went crazy with the ice, order this with no ice if you can……

IMG_0129

IMG_0140

Brodard is known for their Nem Nướng Cuốn, Nem Nướng is a Vietnamese Pork Sausage, It’s rolled up in a rice wrapper, and has a fried egg roll wrapper in the center. It is typically eaten with Tương Chấm, the dipping sauce.

IMG_0167

One order comes with three

IMG_0155

I could eat a million of these…….

IMG_0163

The Fried Egg Roll wrapper in the middle gives it an awesome crunch!

IMG_0178

No Nem Nướng Cuốn is complete without the sauce. The Tương Chấm has a nice sweet note that complements the Nem Nướng Cuốn nicely.

IMG_0157

I ate with a friend and his family so I didn’t want to intrude by taking pictures of their dishes…… I was so hungry I forgot to take a picture of my dish…..

My friend ordered Bánh Khọt
A Crispy rice-flour cake filled with shrimp & scallion, served with Asian greens & fish sauce. My mom used to make this when I was a child, I can eat a million of these also…….

IMG_0143

No Vietnamese dish is complete without some sort of sauce…. You always need some nước mắm

IMG_0130

Overall it’s a pretty good Vietnamese Joint, the Nem Nướng Cuốn is to die for, if I went back that is all I would order.

IMG_0184

Brodard Chateau
9100 Trask Ave
Garden Grove, CA
(714) 899-8273
Brodard Chateau on Urbanspoon

Post lunch we went to Afters, a desert place known for their Ice Cream Milky buns, pretty much a glazed donut bun ice cream sandwich. It was a 10min drive away from Brodard.

IMG_0194

In typical Cali fashion, there was a line….

IMG_0197

IMG_0203 IMG_0210

IMG_0261

Our first glimpse at the Buns…

IMG_0242

What they use to keep the line in place, certainly saves space! The boxes were all full.

IMG_0244 IMG_0253

The instructions

IMG_0251

IMG_0265

Milky Buns….

IMG_0272

They were nice and warm….

IMG_0289

You can sample any flavor…

IMG_0283

IMG_0294

IMG_0305

The assortment of toppings

IMG_0323

IMG_0330

I got the Mint Monster, taste exactly like a hot glazed donut with ice cream in the middle…. Heavenly. It was super awesome because the milky bun was still warm….

IMG_0334

My buddy got the Vanilla, you can’t go wrong with that

IMG_0349

Overall, Afters is a good desert spot if you want something simple and can stand the line.

AFTERS Handcrafted Ice Cream
18030 Brookhurst St
Fountain Valley, CA 92708

Leave a Reply

