Savoy Kitchen | Alhambra, CA

Porkbelly again. It’s a weekday night, my friend and I are hungry. He makes a suggestion, “you want some Hainan chicken?” and that is how I found myself at Savoy Kitchen in Alhambra, the REAL Chinatown of Southern California. Sanvoy kitchen is known for one thing, and one thing only, their Hainan Chicken Rice aka 海南雞飯.

May 13, 2014-IMG_0468-2

Upon arrival, we were quickly seated outside…. As you can see here, most people ordered the Hainan Chicken

May 13, 2014-IMG_0464

I ordered their freshly brewed Chrysanthemum Tea…. Which is not free refill, my friend ordered the ice tea which is unlimited refill (not pictured) The tea is very refreshing.

May 12, 2014-IMG_0459

And then it arrived, the mother of all Hainan Chicken, juicy, succulent, the rice is fluffy with hints of oil, the chicken is just right, and comes with sides of soy sauce, ginger and chili sauce, which you can keep refilling to your hearts desire…….

Hainan Chicken Rice
rice steamed in chicken broth. poached chicken served with small portion of ginger & chili sauce
May 12, 2014-IMG_0439

I still dream about this, nothing in Boston compares….
May 12, 2014-IMG_0430

I’m a big fan of the ginger sauce
May 12, 2014-IMG_0443

I’m getting too hungry from looking at these pictures……

May 12, 2014-IMG_0447

Overall, I would come here again. If I lived near by, I would stop by weekly. Savoy Kitchen is an interesting place since it’s not a Chinese restaurant. Yep you heard me, NOT A CHINESE RESTAURANT, they mainly serve western dishes, such as escargot, various types of pasta, and even pizza. I recommend you come here for the Hainan Chicken and rice and ask for the dark meat option. I’m still drooling looking at these pictures…. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, in typical chinese style, this place is cash only, but everything is pretty cheap, the chicken was around $8 or so.

May 13, 2014-IMG_0470

What my friend drove me down in…..
May 13, 2014-IMG_0479-2

Savoy Kitchen
138 E Valley Blvd
Alhambra, CA 91801
Alhambra
Savoy Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

