New Saigon Sandwich | Boston, MA Chinatown

Pork Belly once again, Bunny is currently away on Holiday in Costa Rica so if the pictures don’t look up to par, it’s because she is a better Photographer and Adobe Lightroom user than me. We just got rid of our Fuji X100s and picked up a Sony A7 with a MetaBones IV adapter to use our assortment of Canon EF lenses. So far the Sony A7 has completely exceeded all my expectations. If you’re looking for a small camera that really packs a bunch buy this camera! It’s amazing how this little camera takes pictures just as good as our Canon 5D Mark II.
microMsg.1408149374177
Since Bunny is away, I am left to find food on my own. Growing up in Northern Virginia, my parents would buy the family Banh Mi weekly, I have fond memories of getting it straight from the store, often the stores would make their own baguettes, it was best when it came straight from the store still warm. I believe the baguette makes at least 60% of a Banh Mi.

Today I wanted to test out my camera and get something quick to eat. I stopped by New Saigon Sandwich in Chinatown, down the street from empire garden. ***Warning Snob moment** Vietnamese food in the Boston area isn’t as good as the Vietnamese food back home in Northern Virgina, or the mecca of Vietnamese food in the US, Westminster, California. It just isn’t, even Dorcester, MA the supposedly Vietnamese town in MA, in my opinion is not as good…….When I say these places are good, I mean good for Boston……

What you see when you walk up
DSC09841

Typical assortment of Bun Dishes and such
DSC09844

No Vietnamese on the menu, a sign for me that makes me question their authenticity. In my travels I have eaten at many Vietnamese restaurants owned by non-Viets, such as Korean, Chinese, or Chinese-Vietnamese(but raised in Vietnam). The workers were speaking straight Cantonese and didn’t respond to me in Vietamese…..(Also not trying to say only Viet people can make Viet food…..) **Warning, that was snob moment number 2**
DSC09845

The place is pretty much a hole-in-the-wall

DSC09848

I walked over near the Chinatown gate to sit down. This lady was feeding the pigeons in front of me with a bag of garbage.
DSC09861

Literally her garbage, I saw scraps on fruits and veggies in there…
DSC09853

It’s Eco friendly
DSC09850

Back to the food….
I got the bbq Beef (I’m guessing Thit Nuong), always a solid choice at most Banh Mi places

DSC09855

DSC09864

The bread is nice, crispy, and flaky. The meat was okay, the bbq beef could of been more marinated or at least grilled more. Usually bbq Beef is supposed to have a nice and brown/blackish color, not gray. The sandwich was heavy on the Nuoc Mam, (fish suace), taste like squid brand (we Vietnamese know our fish sauce), the pickled veggies were on point (who can mess that up?). Overall, it was okay. I like the bread from this place, but I like the meats from the place down the street. At $4 a sandwich I can’t really complain much more. On the scale of things, it’s a Boston good, but a National okay.

New Saigon Sandwich
Chinatown
696 Washington St Boston, MA 02111

New Saigon Sandwich on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

