Tabata Ramen | New York City, NY

Another Porkbelly post. Something about Ramen and NYC seems so right, especially during the colder months. I wanted to check out Tabata Ramen because they won the 2012 NY Street Ramen Contest awhile back. They triumphed over the competition with their incredibly complex “Dark Men” Ramen, a black sesame based broth. Here is a picture to remind everyone what that looked like.

darkmen

This day I went to Tabata Ramen to see what else they have to offer. Sorry for the iPhone Photos!

IMG_1448

Tabata Ramen is located near Port Authority, not too far from the hotel I usually stay in NYC.
IMG_1346

Once you enter, you are greeted by the Bar, or a larger dinning area in the back

IMG_1349

IMG_1353

From the bar you can catch a glimpse of some Wok-Action
IMG_1357

Like many Ramen shops in the area, you can see where they roast their pork bones
IMG_1360

IMG_1362

I was watching this guy all night stir frying beansprouts and making fried rice
IMG_1368

IMG_1378

I’m all about the Calpico Soda……
IMG_1382

IMG_1388

Chicken Wings (チキンウィング) Spicy:
For starters I ordered their Spicy Chicken Wings
IMG_1415

It was super hot, I almost burned my Tongue, they were fried to perfection.

IMG_1411

Tabata Ramen(タバタラーメン)
Soybean Powder & Coconut Flavored Noodle Soup
(Spicy Chicken,Red Onions, Flavored Eggs, Cilantro):
I went with the Tabata ramen.
IMG_1419

Since I tried their DarkMen already, I thought I should try their house Ramen. I wasn’t a big fan at all, it tasted more like a Thai soup than Ramen due to the coconut broth.
IMG_1424

The Noodles also made it seem like a Thai soup since it has the consistency of rice noodles……
IMG_1438

IMG_1445

Overall, Tabata Ramen is a real hit or miss restaurant. The Darkmen Ramen I had was awesome, but their Tabata Ramen really disappointed me. When I want to eat Ramen, I want Ramen, not something that resembles a South-Asian Soup, especially something that has their restaurant’s name on. The appetizer was good, but who can really fuck up fried chicken? On the bright side, if you are near the Port Authority, this is probably the best thing around….

Tabata Ramen
540 9th Ave, New York, NY 10018
Tabata Noodle on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Tabata Ramen | New York City, NY

Leave a Reply

