Tokyo Shabu Shabu | Monterey Park, CA Los Angeles

(PorkBelly) I know shabu shabu isn’t the most dynamic food to take pictures of, but I have to blog for our fans out there….. When I was in LA, my friend took me to his Shabu spot (funny thing, Shabu is slang for Meth Japanese, just so you know). His old spot was Jazz Cat……. Located in a shopping strip in Monterey Park in the real Chinatown area of the LA area. The restaurant is well-lit and clean with 2 bar tops with shabu stoves.

Started off with a calipo soda, i’m really addicted to this drink…..

50mmSSC

Egg to go with our Shabu Shabu

50mmSSC-2

Sesame Paste and Soy Sauce

50mmSSC-3

I got the Kimchi Broth while my friend got the Miso Broth

50mmSSC-4

50mmSSC-5

I went for the Lamb, i’m a sucker for Lamb

50mmSSC-6

My friend went for the top sirloin

50mmSSC-7

Shot with all our stuff in the broth.

50mmSSC-8

Tokyo shabu shabu was average, not something I would go out of my way for. Service was decent, but I didn’t ask for much. After they dropped off our broth their job was pretty much done. I feel like the kimchi broth was lacking depth and flavor. I did not taste much of a kimchi flavor present. Prices are a bit high for the amount of food you receive. Some Shabu Shabu places it’s better to go there instead of eating it at home and this is not one of them….


Tokyo Shabu Shabu

Mar Center
141 N Atlantic Blvd, Ste 100B
Monterey Park, CA 91754

Tokyo Shabu Shabu on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

